University of Maryland 25th Annual High School Programming Contest

  University    College   Department  Directions     Contact Info   

The UMD High School Programming Contest brings talented students from high schools throughout the DC metropolitan area to the campus to participate in a three hour competition. Students competing in teams of four demonstrate their programming skills and problem solving abilities by attempting to solve several programming problems in Java, using the Eclipse programming environment, on Apple iBooks.

The 2015 Contest took place April 18, 2015 at the CSIC Building at the University of Maryland, College Park. Teams from Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia took part in the contest.

Contest Schedule

9am Registration,
Main Lobby, Computer Science Instructional Center (CSIC)
10:15am Welcome & Overview
Associate Prof. Amol Deshpande
Lecture Hall, Room 1115, CSIC
10:30am Practice Session for Students
Computer Labs, CSIC
11:45am Lunch, Main Lobby, CSIC
1-4pm (Students) Contest, Computer Labs, CSIC
1pm (Guest Speaker for Coaches)
Prof. Alan Sussman
Room 1121, CSIC
4:10pm Refreshments, Main Lobby, CSIC
4:30-5pm Award Ceremony,
Lecture Hall, Room 1115, CSIC


Finish Prize School
1st $1800 Thomas Jefferson High School
2nd $1200 Montgomery Blair High School
3rd $900 Boonsboro High School
4th $600 Thomas Wootton High School
5th $300 Marriott's Ridge High School
6th $300 Centennial High School
Gannon Prize* $500 Boonsboro High School

*The Gannon prize is awarded to the most-improved school in memory of John Gannon, former chair of the Computer Science department and an enthusiastic supporter of the UMD High School Programming Contest.

Problem Solving Awards

Problem School
1 Oakland Mills High School
2 Marriott's Ridge High School
3 Thomas Wootton High School
4 River Hill High School
5 Montgomery Blair High School
6 Sherwood High School
7 Boonsboro High School
8 Thomas Jefferson High School

Problem solving awards are $100 prizes given to the first team that solves each contest problem. Each team is only eligible for one problem solving award (unless no other teams solved the problem). Prizes for higher number questions are awarded first.

Contest Problems & Solutions


Contest Pictures

Contest Environment

Contest Rules

Previous Contests

Contest Organizers

  • Brenda Chick (Facilities & Contest Coordinator)
  • Stephanie Peters (Director of Administration)
  • Jeanine Worden (Technical Consultants)
  • Problem Developers and Contest Judges

  • Amol Deshpande (Contest Director)
  • Bill Gasarch
  • Tom Goldstein
  • Evan Golub
  • Mohammad Hajiaghayi
  • Dave Mount
  • Chau-Wen Tseng