This schedule is approximate and we may need to move topics around based on how fast we can cover material, feedback from the class, etc. Do not plan major events (trips, weddings, proving P=NP, etc.) based on this schedule. If you need to verify whether some date is OK, check with me.


------------------------------------------------------------------------
#     Date        Material due (please read *before* class)
------------------------------------------------------------------------
01    2 Sep Tue   [1.0-1.1,3.0-3.1,4.0-4.1,5.0-5.1,6.0-6.1]
02    4 Sep Thu   1.0-1.5,6.0-6.2
03    9 Sep Tue   PHW1,6.3-6.5
04   11 Sep Thu   6.*,5.2
05   16 Sep Tue   8.0,8.1,8.4,8.5
06   18 Sep Thu   PHW2,8.2,8.6-8.9
07   23 Sep Tue   5.3-5.5
08   25 Sep Thu   catch-up,review
09   30 Sep Tue   Q1
10    2 Oct Thu   2.0-2.6
11    7 Oct Tue   3.0-3.3
12   09 Oct Thu   PR1,3.4-3.5
13   14 Oct Tue   3.6-3.9
14   16 Oct Thu   7.1-7.2
15   21 Oct Tue   catch-up,review
16   23 Oct Thu   Mid-term exam (regular class time and place)
17   28 Oct Tue   review
18   30 Oct Thu   7.3-7.6
19    4 Nov Tue   PR2,4.0-4.4
20    6 Nov Thu   4.5-4.9
21   11 Nov Tue   9.0-9.2
22   13 Nov Thu   PHW03,9.3-9.7
23   18 Nov Tue   catch-up,review
24   20 Nov Thu   Q2
25   25 Nov Tue   10.0-10.2
00   27 Nov Thu   No class (Thanksgiving Recess).
26    2 Dec Tue	  10.3-10.6
27    4 Dec Thu	  special topic
28    9 Dec Tue	  catch-up
29   11 Dec Thu   Last class meeting. Review.
30   15 Dec Mon   Project demos; tentative date; times and location TBA.
31   16 Dec Tue   Final Exam 8:00am-10:00am; location TBA.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Notes:
* Unqualified numbers in the material due column refer to sections
  in the textbook; section x.0 refers to the text that begins chapter x.
  Note that the last two sections of each chapter typically are a
  summary and a list of references (and thus short).
* Material within square brackets ([..]) is recommended, but not required
* PHW = programming homework
* HW = other homework
* Q = quiz
* PR = Project Report
* Project demos are to be scheduled for a 1-hour timeslot on the 15th
  of December, by arrangement with the instructor.  If no suitable
  time can be found on these dates, students can schedule the demo for
  any *earlier* date, also by arrangement with the instructor.  

Last modified: Thu Oct 30 15:49:29 EST 2003