CMSC424: Database Design

Prof. Amol Deshpande;    CSIC 1121;    Tue-Thur 11:00am-12:15pm


[Home] [Schedule] [Project/Assignments/Homeworks]

Tentative Schedule (Subject to Change)

Note 1: The schedule below (in particular, the homework/assignment dates) was copied from Fall 2006 schedule, and may change.

Note 2: The chapter numbers refer to the 5th Edition. In class we may jump around the sections, so the chapter numbers written below may not precisely match what was covered that day.

Date     Day   Topic Book Chapters Notes Assignments Out Assignments Due
Sep 2 Tue Introduction to the class 1 [intro-ppt] [intro-pdf]    
Sep 4 Thu Entity-relationship Model 6 (except 6.11) [ER-Relational-ppt] [ER-Relational-pdf]    
Sep 9 Tue ER Model; Relational Model 6 (except 6.11), 2 Cntd; Homework 1 Out;  
Sep 11 Thu Converting ER to Relational 6 (except 6.11), 2 Cntd;    
Sep 16 Tue SQL 2, 3 (except 3.11), 4.2, 8.6 [SQL-RA-pptx]   [SQL-RA-pdf]   Movies DB Queries SQL Assgn. Out; HW 1 Due;
Sep 18 Thu Relational Algebra; SQL (continued) Cntd;    
Sep 23 Tue SQL (continued) Cntd;   Project Phase 0 (Group Information) Due;
Sep 25 Thu SQL (continued) Cntd;    
Sep 30 Tue SQL Chapter 7 Cntd; Homework 2 Out SQL Part 1 Due Sept 29th;
Oct 2 Thu Integrity Constraints; Normalization Chapter 7 [Normalization-pptx] [Normalization-pdf]      
Oct 7 Tue Normalization Chapter 7 Cntd;   SQL Part 2 Due Oct 6th;
Oct 9 Thu Normalization Chapter 7 Cntd;   Homework 2 Due (extended to Oct 14);
Oct 14 Tue Midterm 1        
Oct 16 Thu Advanced SQL; Application Design Chapter 4, 8 [Embedded-SQL-pdf] [App-Design-pdf]      
Oct 21 Tue Storage: Files Chapter 11 [Storage-pptx]   [Storage-pdf] Homework 3 Out  
Oct 23 Thu Storage: Indexing/Hashing Chapter 12, except 12.4, 12.9. Cntd; Programming Assgn. Out Project Phase 1 Due;
Oct 28 Tue Storage: Indexing/Hashing   Cntd;    
Oct 30 Thu Storage; Query Processing; Chapter 13. [Query-Proc.-pptx]   [Query-Proc.-pdf]   Homework 3 Due;
Nov 4 Tue Query processing; Join algorithms; Sorting   Cntd;    
Nov 6 Thu Query processing   Cntd;    
Nov 11 Tue Midterm 2        
Nov 13 Thu Query optimization Chapter 14, except 14.5 [Query-Opt-pptx] [Query-Opt-pdf]    
Nov 18 Tue Query optimization   Cntd;   Programming Assignment Due Nov 17;
Nov 20 Thu Query optimization   Cntd;    
Nov 25 Tue Transactions; Concurrency/Recovery Chapter 15; [ACID-pptx] [ACID-pdf] Homework 4 Out  
Nov 27 Thu Thanksgiving        
Dec 2 Tue Concurrency/Recovery Chapter 17, except 17.8, 17.9. Cntd;   Project Phase 2 Due
Dec 4 Thu Recovery   Cntd;    
Dec 9 Tue Recovery;   Cntd;   Homework 4 Due;
Dec 11 Thu Miscellaneous Topics; Wrapup   [Misc-ppt] [Misc-pdf] [Wrapup-pdf]    
Dec 15 Mon FINAL (Mon 8am - 10am)