CMSC 330, Fall 2013

Organization of Programming Languages

Announcements

Class announcements will be posted via Piazza; please check the course Piazza page daily. You may sign up for the class on Piazza here.

Staff

Name Office E-mail Office Hours
Chau-Wen Tseng AVW 4135 tseng@cs.umd.edu Mon 2-4pm, Wed 2-4pm
Nelson Padua-Perez AVW 1203 nelson@cs.umd.edu Mon 10:30-12:30pm, Wed 10:30-12:30pm
Fang (Javran) Cheng Will meet in TA room javran@cs.umd.edu Mon 9-11:30am, Fri 2:30-5pm
Daniel Farias Will meet in TA room dfarias@terpmail.umd.edu Mon 1-1:45pm, Tue 5-7pm
Ilse Haim Will meet in TA room ihaim@terpmail.umd.edu Wed noon-1pm
Richard Johnson Will meet in TA room rbjohns8@cs.umd.edu
Hao Li Will meet in TA room haoli@cs.umd.edu Tue 9-11am, Thu 9-11am, 2:30-4:30pm
Casey Mihaloew Will meet in TA room mihaloew@cs.umd.edu Mon 11-1pm, Wed 1-3pm
Yoav Segev Will meet in TA room segev@cs.umd.edu Wed 3:30-6:30pm
Tammy Tran Will meet in TA room tnt@cs.umd.edu Tue 12:30-2:30pm, Wed 2-4pm, Thu 12:30-2:30pm
Khoa Trinh Will meet in TA room khoa@cs.umd.edu Mon 2-5pm, Wed 9-11am

Information

Course Description A study of programming languages, including their syntax, semantics, and implementation. Several different models of languages are discussed, including procedural (Ruby), functional (OCaml), logical (Prolog) and object-oriented (Java). Language features such as formal syntax, scoping and binding of variables, higher-order programming, typing and type polymorphism, and object inheritance are explored.
Textbooks There are no required or recommended texts. See the resources page for useful online links.
Lecture Times & Locations
0101, 0102, 0103 Tue & Thu 2:00-3:15pm CSI 2117 Tseng
0201, 0202 Tue & Thu 3:30-4:45pm EGR 1202 Tseng
0301, 0302, 0303 Tue & Thu 3:30-4:45pm CSI 1115 Padua-Perez
Discussion Times & Locations
0101 Fri 9:00-9:50am CSI 3120 Ilse
0102 Fri 10:00-10:50am CSI 3120 Daniel
0103 Fri 11:00-11:50am CSI 3120 Casey
0201 Fri noon-12:50am CSI 3120 Yoav
0202 Fri 1:00-1:50pm CSI 3120 Ilse
0301 Fri 9:00-9:50am CSI 3118 Richard
0302 Fri 10:00-10:50am CSI 3118 Richard
0303 Fri 11:00-11:50am CSI 3118 Richard
Office Hours
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri
9:00 Javran Hao Khoa Hao
9:30 Javran Hao Khoa Hao
10:00 Javran Hao Khoa Hao
10:30 Javran Hao Khoa Hao
11:00 Javran, Casey
11:30 Casey
noon Casey Ilse
12:30 Casey Tammy Ilse Tammy
1:00 Daniel Tammy Casey Tammy
1:30 Tammy Casey Tammy
2:00 Khoa Tammy Casey, Tammy Tammy
2:30 Khoa Casey, Tammy Hao Javran
3:00 Khoa Tammy Hao Javran
3:30 Khoa Yoav, Tammy Hao Javran
4:00 Khoa Yoav Hao Javran
4:30 Khoa Yoav Javran
5:00 Daniel Yoav
5:30 Daniel Yoav
6:00 Daniel Yoav
6:30 Daniel