CMSC 330, Fall 2014

Organization of Programming Languages

Announcements

Class announcements will be posted via Piazza; please check the course Piazza page daily. You may sign up for the class on Piazza here.

Staff

Name Office E-mail Office Hours
Chau-Wen Tseng AVW 4135 tseng@cs.umd.edu Mon, Wed 1-3pm
Amelia Bateman Will meet in TA room abateman@umd.edu Mon 2-3pm, Tue 5-6pm
Daniel Farias Will meet in TA room dfarias@terpmail.umd.edu Tue noon-1pm
Ilse Haim Will meet in TA room ihaim@terpmail.umd.edu Wed 3:30-4:30pm
Moshe Katz Will meet in TA room mmkatz@cs.umd.edu Tue & Thu 2-5pm
Ashwin Kayyoor Will meet in TA room ashwin@cs.umd.edu Mon 4-7pm, Tue & Wed 6-7pm
Casey Mihaloew Will meet in TA room mihaloew@cs.umd.edu Wed noon-3pm
Ian Sweet Will meet in TA room isweet@terpmail.umd.edu None
Max Tatiefo Will meet in TA room mtatiefo@umd.edu Mon 12:30-2pm, Wed 12:30-1:30pm
Yogarshi Vyas Will meet in TA room yogarshi@cs.umd.edu Mon 10am-noon, Thu 11-1pm
Xuefang Xie Will meet in TA room xxie@cs.umd.edu Mon 2-3pm, Wed 4:30-5:30pm

Please include 'CMSC330' in the subject of your email if contacting course staff.

Information

Course Description A study of programming languages, including their syntax, semantics, and implementation. Several different models of languages are discussed, including procedural (Ruby), functional (OCaml), logical (Prolog) and object-oriented (Java). Language features such as formal syntax, scoping and binding of variables, higher-order programming, typing and type polymorphism, and object inheritance are explored.
Textbooks There are no required or recommended texts. See the resources page for useful online links.
Lecture Times & Locations
0101, 0102, 0103 Tue & Thu 3:30-4:45pm CSI 3117 Tseng
0201, 0202, 0203 Tue & Thu 12:30-1:45pm CSI 3117 Tseng
0301, 0302, 0303 Tue & Thu 2:00-3:15pm CSI 3117 Tseng
Discussion Times & Locations
0101 Fri 1:00-1:50pm CSI 2118 Yogarshi
0102 Fri 11:00-11:50am CSI 2118 Ilse
0103 Fri noon-12:50am CSI 2118 Daniel
0201 Fri 10:00-10:50am CSI 3118 Casey
0202 Fri 11:00-11:50am CSI 3118 Casey
0203 Fri noon-12:50am CSI 3118 Xuefang
0301 Fri 1:00-1:50pm CSI 3118 Xuefang
0302 Fri 2:00-2:50pm CSI 3118 Ian
0303 Fri 3:00-3:50pm CSI 3118 Ian
Office Hours
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri
10:00 Yogarshi
10:30 Yogarshi
11:00 Yogarshi Yogarshi
11:30 Yogarshi Yogarshi
noon Daniel Casey Yogarshi
12:30 Max Daniel Casey, Max Yogarshi
1:00 Max Casey, Max
1:30 Max Casey
2:00 Xuefang, Amelia Moshe Casey Moshe
2:30 Xuefang, Amelia Moshe Casey Moshe
3:00 Amelia Moshe Moshe
3:30 Amelia Moshe Ilse Moshe
4:00 Ashwin Moshe Ilse Moshe
4:30 Ashwin Moshe Xuefang Moshe
5:00 Ashwin Amelia Xuefang
5:30 Ashwin Amelia
6:00 Ashwin Ashwin Ashwin
6:30 Ashwin Ashwin Ashwin