CMSC 330, Fall 2015

Organization of Programming Languages

Announcements

Class announcements will be posted via Piazza; please check the course Piazza page daily. You may sign up for the class on Piazza here.

Staff

Name Office E-mail Office Hours
Michael Hicks AVW 3417 mwh@cs.umd.edu Wednesday 1:30-3
Thursday 10-11:30
Anwar Mamat AVW 3259 anwar@cs.umd.edu Monday 9:00-11:00am
Thursday 9:00-11:00am
Adam Sterling TA room 61sterling@cardinalmail.cua.edu

Amelia Bateman

TA room abateman@umd.edu
Candice Schumann TA room candiceschumann@gmail.com
Christopher Maxey TA room christopher.j.maxey@gmail.com
Damien Nagle TA room dnagle@terpmail.umd.edu
Emmanuel Esparza TA room emmanuel.esparza56@gmail.com
Jacqueline Cheng TA room jschen06@gmail.com
Jeremy Choi TA room jeremyschoi@gmail.com
Joshua Preuss TA room jpreuss@terpmail.umd.edu
Maria Furman TA room mfurman@umd.edu
Max Tatiefo TA room mtatiefo@umd.edu
Michael Younkin TA room younkin.michael@gmail.com
Samuel Barham TA room sbarham@terpmail.umd.edu
Sunandita Patra TA room sunandita.patra@gmail.com
Saurav Das TA room sauravd@gmail.com
Venkata Gaddam TA room sgaddam12@yahoo.com
Xuefang Xie TA room xxie@cs.umd.edu

Please think twice before you e-mail the course staff: Most queries should go to Piazza, as their answers will be relevant to more than just the e-mailer. If your query really is just about you, include CMSC330 in the subject of your email.

Information

Course Description A study of programming languages, including their syntax, semantics, and implementation. Several different models of languages are discussed, including procedural (Ruby), functional (OCaml), logical (Prolog) and object-oriented (Java). Language features such as formal syntax, scoping and binding of variables, higher-order programming, typing and type polymorphism, and object inheritance are explored.
Textbooks There are no required or recommended texts. See the resources page for useful online links.
Lecture Times & Locations
0101, 0102, 0103, 0104 Tue & Thu 5:00pm-6:15pm CSI 1115 Mamat
0201, 0202, 0203 Tue & Thu 12:30-1:45pm CSI 3117 Mamat
0301, 0302, 0303, 0304 Tue & Thu 2:00-3:15pm CSI 1115 Hicks
Final exam
0101, 0102, 0103, 0104 Monday, December 14 4:00-6:00pm Mamat
0201, 0202, 0203 Monday, December 14 4:00-6:00pm Mamat
0301, 0302, 0303, 0304 Monday, December 14 4:00-6:00pm Hicks
Discussion Times & Locations
0101 Fri 1:00pm-1:50pm CSI 3120 Josh
0102 Fri 11am-11:50am CSI 2118 Amelia
0103 Fri 12:00pm-12:50pm CSI 3120 Chris
0104 Fri 2:00pm-2:50pm CSI 3120 Michael
0201 Fri 10:00am-10:50am CSI 3120 Amelia
0202 Fri 11:00-11:50am CSI 3120 Maria
0203 Fri12:00pm-12:50pm CSI 2120 Samuel
0301 Fri 1:00pm-1:50pm CSI 2120 Chris
0302 Fri 2:00pm-2:50pm CSI 2120 Max
0303 Fri3:00pm-3:50pm CSI 2120 Candice
0304 Fri 10:00-10:50am CSI 2118 Adam
Office Hours
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri
9:00 Candice Damien Sundita Candice Emmanuel
9:30 Candice Damien Sundita Candice Emmanuel
10:00 Xuefang Damien Jacqueline Candice

Emmanuel,

Xuefang

10:30 Xuefang Damien Jacqueline Candice

Emmanuel,

Xuefang

11:00 Xuefang Venkata Jacqueline Adam

Emmanuel,

Xuefang

11:30 Xuefang Venkata Jacqueline Adam

Emmanuel,

Xuefang

12:00 Xuefang Venkata Jacqueline  

Maria,

Xuefang

12:30 Xuefang Venkata Jacqueline Damien

Maria,

Xuefang

1:00 Saurav Venkata Josh Damien
1:30 Saurav Venkata Josh Damien
2:00 Saurav   Jeremy Chris Sam
2:30 Saurav   Jeremy Chris Sam
3:00 Saurav   Jeremy   Michael
3:30 Saurav Sundita Jeremy Sundita Michael
4:00 Max Sundita Jeremy Sundita
4:30 Max Sundita Jeremy Sundita
5:00       Sundita
5:30       Sundita
6:00