CMSC 330, fall 2016

Organization of Programming Languages

Announcements

Class announcements will be posted via Piazza; please check the course Piazza page daily. You may sign up for the class on Piazza here.

Staff

Name Office E-mail Office Hours
Anwar Mamat AVW 3259 anwar@cs.umd.edu

Tu 9:30-10:30am

Th 9:30-10:30am

Ayman Karim TA Room 1120, AV. Williams Building akarimcheese@yahoo.com Office hours
Joseph Bergman jtbergman1396@gmail.com
Austin Bourgerie bourgerie.a@gmail.com
Alex Danoff adanoff1@terpmail.umd.edu
Marcus Fedarko mfedarko@umd.edu
Gregory Bekher gbekher@umd.edu
Thomas Harris teh019283@gmail.com
Brian Isganitis  brianji03@gmail.com
Xiaomeng (Jackie) Jiang jackiezjiang@gmail.com,
Daniel Kapit   daniel.kapit05@gmail.com,
William Kunkel will@wkunkel.com,
Damien Nagle dnagle@terpmail.umd.edu,
Daniel  Portin portin.daniel@gmail.com
Vitung Quach vitungquach1494@gmail.com,
Ruizhe  Li ruizheli@terpmail.umd.edu
Jake Sandler jsandler18@gmail.com
Adam Sterling 61sterling@cardinalmail.cua.edu
Timothy Wood goeagles4life5@gmail.com
Will Xu williamxu15@gmail.com
Tammy Guilday tnt@cs.umd.edu
Yufan Fei yfei816@gmail.com

Please think twice before you e-mail the course staff: Most queries should go to Piazza, as their answers will be relevant to more than just the e-mailer. If your query really is just about you, include CMSC330 in the subject of your email.

Information

Course Description A study of programming languages, including their syntax, semantics, and implementation. Several different models of languages are discussed, including procedural (Ruby), functional (OCaml), logical (Prolog) and object-oriented (Java). Language features such as formal syntax, scoping and binding of variables, higher-order programming, typing and type polymorphism, and object inheritance are explored.
Textbooks

There are no required or recommended texts. See the resources page for useful online links. We will be using personal response devices, Clickers. Purchase one of the following clickers at the book store
QT2 978-0-9972248-3-2
QT 978-1-934931-75-2
NXT 978-1-934931-77-6
RF LCD 978-1-934931-78-3

Lecture Times & Locations
01XX Tue & Thu 3:30pm - 4:45pm SKN 0200
03XX Tue & Thu 2:00pm - 3:15pm CSI 1115
Final exam
01XXWednesday, December 14 4:00-6:00pm
03XX Wednesday, December 14 4:00-6:00pm
Location

Sections 101,102,103,104,105,106 SKN0200

Sections 107,108, 301,302,303,304 ARC0204

Discussion Times & Locations
0101 Fri 1:00pm - 1:50pm CSI 2120 Brian
0102 Fri 11:00am - 11:50am CSI 2120 Damien
0103 Fri 12:00pm - 12:50pm CSI 2120 Austin
0104 Fri 2:00pm - 2:50pm CSI 2120 Daniel Portin
0105 Fri 10:00am - 10:50am CSI 3120 Greg
0106 Fri 11:00am - 11:50am CSI 3120 Ayman
0107 Fri 12:00pm - 12:50pm CSI 3120 Vitung
0108 Fri 1:00pm - 1:50pm CSI 3120 Alex
0301 Fri 3:00pm - 3:50pm CSI 2120 Will Kunkel
0302 Fri 2:00pm - 2:50pm CSI 3120 Tim
0303 Fri 3:00pm - 3:50pm CSI 3120 Tammy
0304 Fri 10:00am - 10:50am CSI 2120 Daniel Kapit
Office Hours
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri
9:00        
9:30        
10:00

Jacky

  Jacky, Yufan Daniel Portin Marcus
10:30

Jacky,

  Jacky, Yufan Daniel Portin Marcus
11:00

Greg,

Jacky

Tim Jacky, Marcus
Joseph
Marcus, Thomas
11:30

Greg,

Jacky

Tim Jacky, Marcus Joseph Marcus, Thomas
12:00 Damien, Will Kunkel Jake Marcus,
Thomas
Jake,
Joseph
 
12:30 Damien, Will Kunkel Jake Marcus, Thomas Jake,
Joseph
 
1:00 Brian,
Joseph
Daniel Kapit, Jake Thomas Jake Ayman
1:30 Brian,
Joseph
Daniel
Kapit, Jake
Thomas Jake Ayman
2:00 Joseph, Ruizhe Will Xu Vitung, Ruizhe Will Xu Thomas
2:30 Joseph, Ruizhe Will Xu Vitung, Ruizhe Will Xu Thomas
3:00 Ruizhe Will Xu Ruizhe, Yufan Will Xu Austin
3:30 Ruizhe, Thomas Will Xu Ruizhe, Yufan Will Xu Austin
4:00 Thomas, Yufan   Alex, Yufan    
4:30 Yufan   Alex, Yufan    
5:00 Tammy
5:30 Tammy