CMSC 330, Spring 2014

Organization of Programming Languages

Announcements

Class announcements will be posted via Piazza; please check the course Piazza page daily. You may sign up for the class on Piazza here.

CourseEvalUMD is now open, please submit your course feedback here.

Staff

Name Office E-mail Office Hours
Chau-Wen Tseng AVW 4135 tseng@cs.umd.edu Mon 2-5pm
Nelson Padua-Perez AVW 1203 nelson@cs.umd.edu Mon, Wed 10:30am-noon
Fang (Javran) Cheng Will meet in TA room javran@cs.umd.edu Mon 9-10am, Fri 1-4pm
Daniel Farias Will meet in TA room dfarias@terpmail.umd.edu None
Ilse Haim Will meet in TA room ihaim@terpmail.umd.edu Mon 11am-noon
Richard Johnson Will meet in TA room rbjohns8@cs.umd.edu Mon 5-7pm, Wed 1-3pm
Hao Li Will meet in TA room haoli@cs.umd.edu Tue 2-4pm, Wed 9-11am
Casey Mihaloew Will meet in TA room mihaloew@cs.umd.edu Mon 2-3pm, Wed noon-1pm
Bahadir Ozdemir Will meet in TA room ozdemir@cs.umd.edu Tue 10-11am, Thu 10-11am
Bharat Singh Will meet in TA room bharat@cs.umd.edu Thu 2:30-4:30pm, Fri 11am-1pm
Ian Sweet Will meet in TA room isweet@terpmail.umd.edu Mon 1-2pm
Tammy Tran Will meet in TA room tnt@cs.umd.edu None

Information

Course Description A study of programming languages, including their syntax, semantics, and implementation. Several different models of languages are discussed, including procedural (Ruby), functional (OCaml), logical (Prolog) and object-oriented (Java). Language features such as formal syntax, scoping and binding of variables, higher-order programming, typing and type polymorphism, and object inheritance are explored.
Textbooks There are no required or recommended texts. See the resources page for useful online links.
Lecture Times & Locations
0101, 0102, 0103 Tue & Thu 3:30-4:45pm CSI 3117 Padua-Perez
0201, 0202, 0203 Tue & Thu 12:30-1:45pm CSI 3117 Tseng
0301, 0302 Tue & Thu 2:00-3:15pm CSI 3117 Tseng
Discussion Times & Locations
0101 Fri 1:00-1:50pm CSI 2118 Ian
0102 Fri 11:00-11:50am CSI 2118 Ilse
0103 Fri noon-12:50am CSI 2118 Casey
0201 Fri 10:00-10:50am CSI 3118 Tammy
0202 Fri 11:00-11:50am CSI 3118 Tammy
0203 Fri noon-12:50am CSI 3118 Tammy
0301 Fri 1:00-1:50pm CSI 3118 Daniel
0302 Fri 2:00-2:50pm CSI 3118 Daniel
Office Hours
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri
9:00 Javran Hao
9:30 Javran Hao
10:00 Bahadir Hao Bahadir
10:30 Bahadir Hao Bahadir
11:00 Ilse Bharat
11:30 Ilse Bharat
noon Casey Bharat
12:30 Casey Bharat
1:00 Ian Richard Javran
1:30 Ian Richard Javran
2:00 Casey Hao Richard Javran
2:30 Casey Hao Richard Bharat Javran
3:00 Hao Bharat Javran
3:30 Hao Bharat Javran
4:00 Bharat
4:30
5:00 Richard
5:30 Richard
6:00 Richard
6:30 Richard