CMSC 330, Spring 2015

Organization of Programming Languages

Announcements

Class announcements will be posted via Piazza; please check the course Piazza page daily. You may sign up for the class on Piazza here.

Staff

Name Office E-mail Office Hours
Michael Hicks AVW 3417 mwh@cs.umd.edu Tue, Thu 3-4pm; Wed 9-10am
Anwar Mamat AVW 3259 anwar@cs.umd.edu Wed 10am-12pm A.V. Williams 3259
Amelia Bateman TA room abateman@umd.edu Tue 2:00- 3:00pm
Philip Collison TA room philip@cs.umd.edu Mon 4:00-6:00pm, Tue 5:00-6:00pm
Mike Constantine TA room mbconstantine@yahoo.com Tue 12:00-1:00pm
Yehuda Katz TA room yakatz@cs.umd.edu Tue 1:00-300p, Wed 1:00-3:00pm, Thu 1:00-3:0pm
Nick Kofinas TA room nikofinas@gmail.com Mon 1:00-4:00pm, Wed 1:00-4:00pm
Christopher Maxey TA room christopher.j.maxey@gmail.com Tue 4:00-5:00pm
Casey Mihaloew TA room mihaloew@cs.umd.edu Tue 9:00am-12:00pm
Tommy Pensyl TA room tpensyl@cs.umd.edu Wed 4:00-5:30pm, Thu 4:00-5:30pm
Eric Raboin TA room eraboin@gmail.com Thu 9:00am-12:00pm
Elizabeth Schlieper TA room schliepe@cs.umd.edu Thu 1:00-4:00pm
Xuefang Xie TA room xxie@cs.umd.edu Mon 9:30am-12:30pm, Wed 9:30am-12:30pm
Michael Younkin TA room younkin.michael@gmail.com Tue 11:30am-1:30pm, Thu 12-1pm

Please think twice before you e-mail the course staff: Most queries should go to Piazza, as their answers will be relevant to more than just the e-mailer. If your query really is just about you, include CMSC330 in the subject of your email.

Information

Course Description A study of programming languages, including their syntax, semantics, and implementation. Several different models of languages are discussed, including procedural (Ruby), functional (OCaml), logical (Prolog) and object-oriented (Java). Language features such as formal syntax, scoping and binding of variables, higher-order programming, typing and type polymorphism, and object inheritance are explored.
Textbooks There are no required or recommended texts. See the resources page for useful online links.
Lecture Times & Locations
0101, 0102, 0103, 0104 Tue & Thu 11:00am-12:15pm CSS 2324 Hicks
0201, 0202, 0203 Tue & Thu 12:30-1:45pm CSI 3117 Mamat
0301, 0302, 0303, 0304 Tue & Thu 9:30-10:45am CSS 2324 Mamat
Final exam
Note location change!
0101, 0102, 0103, 0104 Thursday, May 14, 4 - 6pm BRB 1101 Hicks
0201, 0202, 0203 Thursday, May 14, 4 - 6pm BRB 1101 Mamat
0301, 0302, 0303, 0304 Thursday, May 14, 4 - 6pm BRB 1101 Mamat
Discussion Times & Locations
0101 Fri 11:00am-11:50am CSI 2118 Constantine
0102 Fri 12:00-12:50pm CSI 2118 Schlieper
0103 Fri 1:00-1:50pm CSI 2118 Schlieper
0104 Fri 2:00-2:50pm CSI 2120 Bateman
0201 Fri 10:00-10:50am CSI 3118 Raboin
0202 Fri 11:00-11:50am CSI 3118 Raboin
0203 Fri noon-12:50am CSI 3118 Mihaloew
0301 Fri 1:00-1:50pm CSI 3118 Mihaloew
0302 Fri 2:00-2:50pm CSI 3118 Pensyl
0303 Fri 3:00-3:50pm CSI 3118 Pensyl
0304 Fri 3:00-3:50pm CSI 2118 Maxey
Office Hours
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri
9:00   Casey   Eric
9:30 Xuefang Casey Xuefang Eric
10:00 Xuefang Casey Xuefang Eric
10:30 Xuefang Casey Xuefang Eric
11:00 Xuefang Casey Xuefang Eric
11:30 Xuefang Casey, Michael Y. Xuefang Eric
12:00 Xuefang Mike C., Michael Y. Xuefang Michael Y.
12:30   Mike C., Michael Y.   Michael Y.
1:00 Nick Yehuda, Michael Y. Nick,Yehuda Elizabeth,Yehuda
1:30 Nick Yehuda Nick,Yehuda Elizabeth,Yehuda
2:00 Nick Amelia,Yehuda Nick,Yehuda Elizabeth,Yehuda
2:30 Nick Amelia,Yehuda Nick,Yehuda Elizabeth,Yehuda
3:00 Nick   Nick Elizabeth
3:30 Nick   Nick Elizabeth
4:00 Philip Chris Tommy Tommy
4:30 Philip Chris Tommy Tommy
5:00 Philip Philip Tommy Tommy
5:30 Philip Philip
6:00