CMSC 330, Spring 2016

Organization of Programming Languages

Announcements

Class announcements will be posted via Piazza; please check the course Piazza page daily. You may sign up for the class on Piazza here.

Staff

Name Office E-mail Office Hours
Anwar Mamat AVW 3259 anwar@cs.umd.edu

Wed 10-11:30am, or by appointment.

No office hours after 5/10

Adam Sterling TA room 61sterling@cardinalmail.cua.edu

Anshul Sawant

TA room anshul.sawant@gmail.com
Austin Bourgerie TA room austin@bourg.me
Ayman Karim TA room akarimcheese@yahoo.com
Bahadir Ozdemir TA room ozdemir@cs.umd.edu
Damien Nagle TA room dnagle@terpmail.umd.edu
Daniel Kapit TA room daniel.kapit05@gmail.com
Jason Fields TA room jasonfields4@gmail.com
Maria Furman TA room mfurman@umd.edu
Michael Younkin TA room younkin.michael@gmail.com
Patrick Freed TA room pfreed@terpmail.umd.edu
Soheil Ehsani TA room soheilehsani@gmail.com
Venkata Gaddam TA room sgaddam12@yahoo.com
Vitung Quach TA room vitungquach1494@gmail.com
William Kunkel TA room will@wkunkel.com
Xiaomeng (Jackie) Jiang TA room jackiezjiang@gmail.com

Please think twice before you e-mail the course staff: Most queries should go to Piazza, as their answers will be relevant to more than just the e-mailer. If your query really is just about you, include CMSC330 in the subject of your email.

Information

Course Description A study of programming languages, including their syntax, semantics, and implementation. Several different models of languages are discussed, including procedural (Ruby), functional (OCaml), logical (Prolog) and object-oriented (Java). Language features such as formal syntax, scoping and binding of variables, higher-order programming, typing and type polymorphism, and object inheritance are explored.
Textbooks There are no required or recommended texts. See the resources page for useful online links.
Lecture Times & Locations
0101, 0102, 0103 Tue & Thu 9:30am-10:45am CSI 2117
0201, 0202, 0203, 0204 Tue & Thu 12:30pm-1:45pm CSI 1115
0301, 0302, 0303, 0304 Tue & Thu 3:30pm-4:45pm BPS 1250
Final exam
0101, 0102, 0103, 0104
0201, 0202, 0203
0301, 0302, 0303, 0304
Discussion Times & Locations
0101 Fri 10:00am-10:50pm CSI 2120 Adam
0102 Fri 11:00am-11:50am CSI 2120 Adam
0103 Fri 12:00pm-12:50pm CSI 2120 Austin
0201 Fri 2:00pm-2:50pm CSI 2120 Patrick
0202 Fri 3:00pm-3:50pm CSI 2120 Jason
0203 Fri 10:00-10:50am CSI 3120 Damien
0204 Fri 11:00am-11:50am CSI 3120 Ayman
0301 Fri 12:00pm-12:50pm CSI 3120 Anshul
0302 Fri 1:00pm-1:50pm CSI 3120 Michael
0303 Fri 2:00pm-2:50pm CSI 3120 Daniel
0304 Fri 3:00pm-3:50am CSI 3120 William
Office Hours
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri
9:00        
9:30 Anshul Bahadir Soheil Anshul
10:00 Michael Bahadir Soheil Anshul Venkata
10:30 Michael Bahadir Soheil Anshul Venkata
11:00 Austin, Anshul Jackie, Bahadir Soheil Soheil, Anshul Venkata
11:30 Austin Jackie Soheil Venkata
12:00 Austin Soheil

Venkata
12:30 Austin Maria Soheil Venkata
1:00 Vitung Maria Damien
1:30 Vitung Maria Damien
2:00 Soheil, Jason Jackie Maria Jackie William
2:30 Soheil, Jason Jackie Maria Jackie William
3:00 Soheil Bahadir Maria Bahadir Patrick
3:30 Soheil Bahadir, Daniel   Bahadir Patrick
4:00 Vitung Bahadir, Daniel Vitung Bahadir Ayman
4:30 Vitung Bahadir Vitung Bahadir Ayman
5:00
5:30