CMSC 330, Spring 2017

Organization of Programming Languages

Announcements

Class announcements will be posted via Piazza; please check the course Piazza page daily. You may sign up for the class on Piazza here.

Staff

Name Office E-mail Office Hours
Michael Hicks AVW 3417 (in 3400 suite; the Maryland Cybersecurity Center) mwh@cs.umd.edu

Tu/Th 3:00pm-4:00pm

Anwar Mamat AVW 3259 anwar@cs.umd.edu

Tu/Th 1:00pm-2:00pm

Ayman Karim TA Room 1120, AV. Williams Building akarim1@terpmail.umd.edu Office hours
Joseph Bergman JTBerg17@umd.edu
Austin Bourgerie bourgerie.a@gmail.com
Alex Danoff adanoff1@terpmail.umd.edu
Tal Davidi tal.davidi@gmail.com
Gregory Bekher gbekher@umd.edu
Thomas Harris teh019283@gmail.com
Cameron Moy camoy@terpmail.umd.edu
Bracha Rappaport btrappaport@gmail.com
Daniel Kapit   daniel.kapit05@gmail.com,
Eric Sim ericysim@gmail.com
Damien Nagle dnagle@terpmail.umd.edu,
Daniel  Portin portin.daniel@gmail.com
Vitung Quach vitungquach1494@gmail.com,
Ruizhe  Li ruizheli@terpmail.umd.edu
Jake Sandler jsandler18@gmail.com
Aaron Steven George georgaar@gmail.com
Timothy Wood goeagles4life5@gmail.com

Michael Pearson

mpearso7@terpmail.umd.edu
Isaac Leong isaackleong514@gmail.com
Nicholas Condron   ncondron42@gmail.com
Omar El-Mihilmy omihilmy@terpmail.umd.edu
Yi Mao maoyi16@gmail.com
Samuel Barham sbarham@terpmail.umd.edu
Rui Qian rqian1@terpmail.umd.edu
Will Xu williamxu15@gmail.com

Please think twice before you e-mail the course staff: Most queries should go to Piazza, as their answers will be relevant to more than just the e-mailer. If your query really is just about you, include CMSC330 in the subject of your email.

Information

Course Description A study of programming languages, including their syntax, semantics, and implementation. Several different models of languages are discussed, including procedural (Ruby), functional (OCaml), logical (Prolog) and object-oriented (Java). Language features such as formal syntax, scoping and binding of variables, higher-order programming, typing and type polymorphism, and object inheritance are explored.
Textbooks

There are no required or recommended texts. See the resources page for useful online links. We will be using personal response devices, Clickers. Purchase one of the following clickers at the book store
QT2 978-0-9972248-3-2
QT 978-1-934931-75-2
NXT 978-1-934931-77-6
RF LCD 978-1-934931-78-3

Lecture Times & Locations
01XX Tue & Thu 9:30am - 10:45am CSI 2117
02XX Tue & Thu12:30pm - 1:45pm CSI 1115
03XX Tue & Thu 11:00am - 12:15pm CSI 1115
04XX Tue & Thu 5:00pm - 6:15pm SYM 0200
Final exam
01XXSaturday, May 13 4:00-6:00pm LEF 2205
02XX Saturday, May 13 4:00-6:00pm LEF 2205
03XX Saturday, May 13 4:00-6:00pm ARC 0204
04XX Saturday, May 13 4:00-6:00pm ARC 0204
Discussion Times & Locations
0101 Fri 10:00am - 10:00am CSI 2120 Ayman
0102 Fri 11:00am - 11:50am CSI 2120 Ayman
0103 Fri 12:00pm - 12:50pm CSI 2120 Greg
0201 Fri 2:00pm - 2:50pm CSI 2120 Vitung
0202 Fri 3:00pm - 3:50pm CSI 2120 Eric
0203 Fri 10:00am - 11:50am CSI 3120 Daniel Kapit
0204 Fri 11:00am - 11:50am CSI 3120 Austin
0301 Fri 12:00pm - 12:50pm CSI 3120 JT
0302 Fri 1:00pm - 1:50pm CSI 3120 JT
0303 Fri 2:00pm - 2:50pm CSI 3120 Tim
0304 Fri 3:00pm - 3:50pm CSI 3120 Aaron
0401 Fri 10:00am - 10:50am CSI 2107 Alex
0402 Fri 11:00am - 11:50am CSI 2107 Samuel
0403 Fri 12:00pm - 12:50pm CSI 2107 Jake
0404 Fri 1:00pm - 1:50pm CSI 2107 Tal
Office Hours
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri
10:00

BT, Omar

SAM, Eric Thomas SAM Thomas
10:30

BT, Rui, Omar

SAM, Eric Thomas SAM Thomas
11:00

BT, Rui

SAM, Omar Thomas BT,SAM Thomas, Michael
11:30

BT, Rui

SAM, Omar Rui, Thomas BT,SAM Thomas, Michael
12:00 Daniel P,Rui, Aaron Jake, Nick Rui, Cameron BT,Nick SAM,Daniel P, Michael
12:30 Daniel P, Aaron Jake, Nick Cameron, Omar BT,Nick SAM,Daniel P, Michael
1:00 Tim, Daniel P Nick,Daniel K Cameron, Omar Nick,Tal Daniel P,Yi
1:30 Tim, Daniel P Nick, Daniel K Cameron, Omar Nick, Tal Daniel P,Yi
2:00 Damien, Austin, Ruizhe Alex,Issac Rui, Omar, Ruizhe Issac Damien, Yi
2:30 Damien, Austin, Ruizhe Alex,Issac Rui, Ruizhe Issac Damien, Yi
3:00 Damien, Michael Issac, Will   Issac, Will Damien, Ruizhe
3:30 Damien, Yi, Michael Issac, Will   Issac, Will Damien, Ruizhe
4:00 Greg, Yi, Michael Cameron, Vitung, Will   Cameron, Will Ruizhe
4:30 Greg, Yi, Michael Cameron, Vitung, Will   Cameron, Will Ruizhe