.
May 31 - Pre-Symposium Workshops & Tutorials


During the day prior to the Symposium & Open House, 3 tutorials and 3 workshops will enable participants to focus on special topics. Tutorials and workshops will run from 10am to 4pm, followed by a reception until 6pm

RECEPTION: The ACM Special Interest Group on Computers and Society is proud to present the 2001 SIGCAS Making A Difference Award to Ben Shneiderman in recognition of his persistent efforts over the past 25 years to combine scientific excellence with deep social concern for the use of technology to empower individuals and enhance the quality of life.


TUTORIAL 1
An Introduction to Human Computer Interaction

Evan Golub, Ben Bederson
Contact egolub@cs.umd.edu for more information


WORKSHOP 1
Evaluating Interactive Cross-Language Information Retrieval

Doug Oard, Rebecca Hwa, Judith Klavans, Bill Ogden
Submit position statement to: hwa@umiacs.umd.edu


TUTORIAL 2
An Introduction to Usability Testing

Bill Killam
Contact bkillam@user-centereddesign.com for more information


WORKSHOP 2
Treemap Implementations and Applications

Ben Shneiderman
Submit position statement to ben@cs.umd.edu


TUTORIAL 3
An Introduction to Kids, Technology and Education

Glenda Revelle, Jaime Montemayor, Allison Farber
Contact glenda@umiacs.umd.edu for more information


WORKSHOP 3
Technologies for Families

Catherine Plaisant, Allison Druin
Submit position statement to: plaisant@cs.umd.edu