Members of Our Team


Faculty and Staff


Ben Shneiderman
ben@cs.umd.edu

Catherine Plaisant
plaisant@cs.umd.edu

Ben Bederson
bederson@cs.umd.edu

Graduate Students


Hilary Browne
hbrowne@cs.umd.edu

Tammara Combs
tcombs@cs.umd.edu
Photo Not Available
Gunjan Dang
gunjan@cs.umd.edu

Hatim Kahn
hatim@cs.umd.edu

Hyunmo Kang
kang@cs.umd.edu

Manav Kher
manav@cs.umd.edu

Undergraduate Students


Todd Carlough
toddc@wam.umd.edu

Ted He
orcus@wam.umd.edu

Photo Libraries Home Page

Bibliography


Biographies

Ben Bederson

Hilary Browne
1st Year CS grad student in HCIL
Role: Observer and occasional contributor
Right now: Comparing off-the-shelf digital photo organization and presentation tools, and possibly some web sites, for CMSC class project

James (Todd)Carlough
I'm a sophomore Computer Science and Business major. My role in this project is scanning the pictures and entering the information about them into a database.

Tammara Combs
Third year graduate student in HCIL

Gunjan Dang

Daneil DeMenthon

Ted He

Hatim Kahn
Second year as a graduate student in the computer science department at UMCP
Role in the project: Direct annotation. My role in this project is to investigate and then develop an easy, quick and efficient way to attach annotations (such as names of people, year, ..etc) directly to the photos. To do that, the user interface should allow the user to quickly allocate the information that will be used as annotations and then drag and drop them into the desired photo(s). This should also include the ability to do bulk annotation.

Hyunmo Kang
Department: Computer Science
Year: Third year Ph.D. student
Role: What I've done so far is as follows:
1. Building a prototype Photo-lib database, and implementing database viewer and thumbnail browser.
2. Testing several commercial personal photo library applications.
3. Trying to find interesting features in a database with Spotfire and STV

Future work:
1. Devising search and browse techniques
2. Implementing the prototype of personal photo-lib with Visual Basic.

Manav Kher
I am a First year Graduate student at the Institute Of Systems Research and am doing my Masters in Systems Engg and my area of concentration is Computer Science.My role in the project is to try and implement Personal Photo Libraries using Snap Together visualization

Catherine Plaisant
My role is to prepare a rudimentary user/task taxonomy - review/critique the prototypes as they are built, with a special twist on making sure we address users' needs.

Ben Shneiderman
Head of the Human-Computer Interaction Laboratory and head of the Photo Library Project for HCIL

Web Accessibility