Amitabh Varshney

Director, University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies
Professor, Department of Computer Science
2119 A. V. Williams Building
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742

Ph: (301)405-6722
Fax: (301)405-6707

Research Interests Short Biography

Amitabh Varshney is the Director of the Institute for Advanced Computer Studies (UMIACS) and Professor of Computer Science at the University of Maryland at College Park. He received a B. Tech. in Computer Science from the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi in 1989 and a M.S. and Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in 1991 and 1994. During 1994 - 2000, he was an Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the State University of New York at Stony Brook. Varshney's research focus is on exploring the applications of graphics and visualization in engineering, science, and medicine. He has worked on the design and implementation of virtual walkthroughs of proposed structures, such as buildings, automobiles, and submarines. In the process he has developed new algorithms for automatically generating multiresolution object hierarchies, image-based rendering, parallel computation and simplification of radiosity meshes, and fine gesture recognition for virtual environments. His work on efficient and robust computation of smooth molecular surfaces is useful in the rational drug design process through the protein folding and docking problems. He is currently exploring applications in general-purpose high-performance parallel computing using clusters of CPUs and Graphics Processing Units (GPUs). He has also consulted and collaborated with the industry including NVIDIA, Honda, IBM, Daimler Chrysler, General Dynamics, and Reuters. He is the Director of the NVIDIA CUDA Center of Excellence at Maryland. Varshney received a NSF CAREER Award in 1995 and a Honda Research Initiation Award in 1997. He received the IEEE Visualization Technical Achievement Award in 2004. He is currently serving as the Chair of the IEEE Visualization and Graphics Technical Committee. He is a Fellow of IEEE.