Aravind Srinivasan

Hi, welcome to my home-page. I am a Distinguished University Professor and Professor of Computer Science, UMIACS, and AMSC, at the University of Maryland, College Park.

Brief bio: Aravind Srinivasan's main research-interests are in algorithms, probabilistic methods, data science, network science, and machine learning: theory, and applications in areas including health, E-commerce, cloud computing, Internet advertising, and fairness. They span areas including:

Dr. Srinivasan received his PhD from Cornell University, and Bachelor's from IIT Madras. He is an elected Fellow of six professional societies: ACM, IEEE, AMS, AAAS, EATCS, and SIAM. He has been elected a Member of Academia Europaea, the Academy of Europe. He was appointed a Distinguished University Professor of the University of Maryland in 2020: this is the highest academic honor the university confers upon its faculty. He received a Distinguished Alumnus Award from his alma mater IIT Madras. He also received the Distinguished Faculty Award from the Board of Visitors of the College of Computing, Mathematical, and Natural Sciences (University of Maryland). He is a recipient of the Dijkstra Prize, the Danny Lewin Award, and the Distinguished Career Award in Computer Science from the Washington Academy of Sciences.

His past/current research has been funded by research awards from Adobe, Amazon, and Google, and by grants/contracts from the NSF, IARPA, and USARO. He serves as Associate Editor for the ACM Transactions on Algorithms (Editor-in-Chief, 2014-2020), as an Editor for Theory of Computing (Managing Editor, 2006-2019), and as an Editor for the Journal of the IISc.

Srinivasan has also been serving as an Amazon Scholar since 2019.

Expanded bio and full CV: Here are my expanded bio and a link to my CV (last updated: October 4, 2021).

For prospective students: Please read this if you wish to email me about admissions or about working with me.

Education: B.Tech. (Computer Science & Engineering), Indian Institute of Technology Madras, 1989. Advisor: Prof. C. Pandu Rangan
Ph.D. (Computer Science), Cornell University, 1993. Advisor: Prof. David B. Shmoys
Postdoc: Institute for Advanced Study (Princeton) and DIMACS (Rutgers), 1993-94.
Publications: My publications and co-authors.
Teaching: I am teaching CMSC 420, Advanced Data Structures in Fall 2021.
I plan to teach a substantially re-designed class CMSC 454, Algorithms for Data Science, in Spring 2022; it will include sketching and streaming, high-dimensional geometry, algorithmic linear algebra, optimization and gradient descent, differential privacy, and fairness.
My previous courses.
Students: Current PhD Students: Sharmila Duppala, Seyed Abdulaziz Esmaeili, Nathaniel Grammel, Sanna Madan, Aviva Prins, and Leonidas Tsepenekas. (Duppala, Esmaeili, Prins, and Tsepenekas co-advised with John P. Dickerson; Madan co-advised with Furong Huang and Eytan Ruppin.)
Former PhD Students: (Brubach co-advised by Mihai Pop, Chavan co-advised by Amol Deshpande, Han co-advised by Bobby Bhattacharjee, Levin co-advised by Bobby Bhattacharjee and Neil Spring, Xu co-advised by John P. Dickerson.)
Current/former MS students: Dr. Ioana Bercea, Evar Jones, Dan-Dan Lin, Geoffrey Moores, and Tommy Pensyl.
Other current/former students with significant collaborations: Dr. Suman Banerjee, Dr. Rajiv Gandhi, Dr. Seungjoon Lee, Dr. Ruggero Morselli, and Dr. Barna Saha.
Summer intern at Bell Labs: Dr. Adam Meyerson.
Mentorship of undergrad Gemstone teams:
  • On novel pharmaceutical drug-design processes through bioinformatics, machine learning, and computational toxicology, 2018-2019.
  • On bio-engineering and computer science for medical devices, 2013-2016.
  • On information interfaces for reducing information overload, 2011-2014.
Undergraduate students: George Li (2020-present) and Zach Zhao (2020-present).
Undergraduate independent study: Michael Eleff (Spring 2015).
High-school student continuing through undergrad: Naveen Raman (2018-2020; co-advised by John Dickerson and Max Leiserson).
High-school students: Antares Chen (2014-2015; co-advised by David Harris), Tanya Das (2021-2022; co-advised by Achla Marathe and Anil Vullikanti), Naveen Durvasula (2015-2019 and ongoing; co-advised by John Dickerson), Anushka Gandhi (2021-2022; co-advised by Achla Marathe and Anil Vullikanti), Levon Mkrtchyan (2006), Steven Qu (2017-2019 and ongoing; co-advised by Madhav Marathe and Anil Vullikanti), Shreya Vallimanalan (2020-2021; co-advised by Anil Vullikanti), Claire Zhang (2021-2022; co-advised by Leonidas Tsepenekas and Michael Winer), and Shawn Zhao (2019-2020; co-advised by Brian Brubach).
Recent/Current Program Committees: Area Chair, ICLR 2022; PC Member, SODA 2022; Area Chair, ICLR 2021; Area Chair, ICML 2020; Senior PC, AAAI 2020.
Editorial Boards: Associate Editor, ACM Transactions on Algorithms (TALG; Editor-in-Chief, 2014-2020).
Editor, Theory of Computing (ToC), an open-access journal (Managing Editor, 2006-2019).
Editor, Journal of the IISc.
Associate Editor, Networks, 2006-2019.
Associate Editor, Journal of Computer and System Sciences (JCSS), 2004-2014.
Editor, Journal of Discrete Algorithms (JDA), 2004-2012.
Guest Co-editor, special issue of the SIAM Journal on Computing for selected papers from STOC 2010 (completed).
Guest Co-editor, special issue of Theory of Computing Systems (2004) for selected papers from SPAA 2004 (completed).
Guest Co-editor, special issue of JCSS (2004) for selected papers from STOC 2003 (completed).
Links: My links are here.
Contact: Room 4164, Iribe Center
Dept. of Computer Science
University of Maryland at College Park
College Park, MD 20742, USA

Phone (email preferred): 301-405-2695, Fax: 301-405-6707
E-mail: asriniv1 AT umd DOT edu