Recent News

by Rebecca Copeland, Institute of Systems Research

Professor Dana Nau (CS/ISR), Professor Michele Gelfand (Psychology), and Assistant Professor Tom Goldstein (CS) are part of a Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI), one of 24 awarded this...read more

To Our CS Community:

Many of you may have seen on social media over the last few days a TA handbook linked to our department. This document was deeply troubling and made generalizations about our...read more

From Department Chair Ming C. Lin

The TA Handbook posted on the CS website contained highly inappropriate, stereotypical characterizations of women. The handbook has been removed from the site, and we apologize for its...read more

Descriptive Image

Ph.D. Students Saeed Seddighin and Pan Xu will be two recipients of the Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship for 2018. 

Descriptive Image

Garrett Katz (PhD, '17) will begin his tenure as an Assistant Professor of Computer Science at Syracuse University in the Fall Semester of 2018.  Katz currently works as a post doctoral researcher for his...read more

Descriptive Image

Prayaag Venkat ('17) has been awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Fellowship for 2018.  During his time as an undergraduate, he worked on research projects under computer science professors David Mount, Samir Khuller, Andrew Childs,...read more

by Rebecca Copeland, Institute of Systems Research 

A team of four University of Maryland researchers has been awarded a nine-month, $646K grant from the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) for "Robust Semi-Autonomous Swarm Tactics...read more

Descriptive Image

Computer Science graduate student Tongyang Li has been named a 2018 recipient of an IBM PhD Fellowship Award.  Li is in the third year of his PhD program in the Department of Computer Science,...read more


On May 22, we inducted 3 alumni into our Hall of Fame.  View the YouTube video of the ceremony here.