Department Awards for Excellence in Teaching for 2021-22

Descriptive image for  Department Awards for Excellence in Teaching for 2021-22

 The department is pleased to announce our winners for the teaching award for the academic year 2021-22. Based on the nominations made by the students and the faculty the award committee selected the following recipients for this year's teaching awards:

  • Best Undergraduate Teaching Assistant: Joshua Kalampanayil nominated for CMSC 330, Organization of Programming Languages, and Tania Arya nominated for CMSC 131, Object-Oriented Programming I
  • Best Graduate Teaching Assistant:  Emily Kaplitz nominated for CMSC 250, Discrete Structures
  • Best STIC Facilitator: Benjamin Lin nominated for CMSC 389P, Mastering the PM Interview
  • Best LecturerMichael Alan Marsh nominated for CMSC 414, Computer and Network Security
  • Best Professor: Rob Patro nominated for CMSC 423, Bioinformatic Algorithms, Databases, and Tools

 "We are deeply grateful for the outstanding work Joshua, Tania, Emily, Benjamin, Mike, and Rob are contributing to the educational mission in our department. They are role models for all of us with their commitment to innovation and excellence in teaching," said Matthias Zwicker, the chair of the Department of Computer Science.

Each year, the Department of Computer Science recognizes outstanding professors, instructors, STIC facilitators, and teaching assistants for their excellence, dedication, thoughtfulness, and commitment to teaching and learning.

Professor Dave Mount and Senior Lecturer Fawzi Emad served on the award committee.





The Department welcomes comments, suggestions and corrections.  Send email to editor [-at-] cs [dot] umd [dot] edu.