We are a department of excellence. The University of Maryland’s computer science faculty continually embarks on cutting edge research, produces award winning papers, and teaches students a foundation of skills to launch their own accomplishments.

We graduate qualified students that earn competitive jobs. Many UMD alumni have become professors at high ranked universities, researchers at well-known industrial labs and software engineers at successful Internet start-ups. Some of our notable alumni include Sergey Brin, co-founder of Google; Gary Flake, a Microsoft Distinguished Engineer and founder of Yahoo! Research Labs; and Naresh Gupta, senior vice president of Adobe’s Print and Publishing Business Unit. In an effort to expand the online Alumni Hall of Fame, if you would like to nominate a UMD CS alumnus or alumna to be highlighted on these pages, please send an email to the chair's office ( and to Professor Ashok Agrawala ( Our department wants to recognize the achievements of as many alumni as possible.

Additionally, we would like to keep alumni up-to-date on CS events once a semester through a newsletter! If you have not been invited by email to the alumni mailing list (, you can sign up here. For giving opportunities, please click here.

Recent Class Notes

 April, 2024

Martín Farach-Colton was inducted as a 2023 fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Read More  

 March, 2024

Juan Navarro (B.S. ’82) was named President/CEO of Advanced IT Concepts LLC.

Read More  

 February, 2024

Samuel Hui (B.S. ’20) joined the Institute for Defense Analyses (IDA) as a Programmer and Analyst in the Systems Development and Implementation branch of the Information Technology Directorate.

 August, 2023

Rick Kuhn (M.S. ’85), a computer scientist in NIST's Computer Security Division, was elected a Fellow of the Washington Academy of Sciences.

Read More  

 October, 2022

Debanjan Saha (Ph.D. ’95) was named CEO of DataRobot.


Matthew Onufrak (B.S. ’13) summited Mount Rainier.

Read More  

 August, 2022

FiscalNote, which was co-founded by Jonathan Chen (B.S. ’14) in his dorm room at UMD, went public on the New York Stock Exchange on August 1


Read More  

Alesia Cain (B.S. ’89) was elected vice president of communications by the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials’ New York Chapter.

 May, 2022

Shravan Goli (M.S. ’94), Coursera's chief product officer and head of consumer revenue, was appointed to NETGEAR’s board of directors.


 April, 2022

Nizar Habash (M.S. ’00, Ph.D. ’03), named to MI Technology Review Arabia’s list of “30 leading arab experts in AI”