Ming Lin and Samir Khuller Elected to the Computing Research Association’s Board of Directors

Descriptive image for Ming Lin and Samir Khuller Elected to the Computing Research Association’s Board of Directors

University of Maryland’s Distinguished University Professor Ming Lin and Emeritus Professor Samir Khuller have been elected to the Computing Research Association (CRA) Board of Directors. 

CRA is a North American organization that brings together academic departments, laboratories, and professional societies involved in computing research. The election of Lin and Khuller to the board reflects their outstanding contributions to the field of computer science and their leadership roles in academia.

Lin is an expert in Robotics, Virtual Reality, Computer Graphics, and Human-Centric Computing. Her research has been adopted in many applications, including medicine, urban computing, and intelligent transportation systems. Lin has published extensively and is among the world’s most cited computer scientists.  She is a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, ACM, IEEE, Eurographics, ACM SIGGRAPH, and IEEE VR Academy.   She is currently a Board of Director for CRA-WP; previously served on the Board of Governors for the IEEE Computer Society and advisory boards for non-profit organizations, government, and industry worldwide.  She also chaired dozens of conferences and award committees. 

A University of Maryland Distinguished ScholarTeacher, Khuller’s research interests lies in graph algorithms, computational geometry, and discrete optimization. He has published extensively in these areas and is a Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery and the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science. Khuller has also served as the Chair of SIGACT, the Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory. Khuller is currently the Peter and Adrienne Barris Chair for Computer Science at Northwestern University. 

Both Lin and Khuller have held prestigious positions at the University of Maryland, with Lin serving as the Elizabeth Iribe Chair of Computer Science from 2018-2020 and Khuller as the inaugural Elizabeth Stevinson Iribe Chair for Computer Science. Their election to the Board of Directors of CRA is a recognition of their leadership in computer science and their commitment to advancing computing research. They will serve their term from July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2026.


The Department welcomes comments, suggestions and corrections.  Send email to editor [-at-] cs [dot] umd [dot] edu.