Promotions Announced for UMD Computer Science Faculty Members

Fawzi Emad, Soheil Feizi, Tom Goldstein, Dave Levin, Nelson Padua-Perez and Xiaodi Wu were promoted in summer 2023
Descriptive image for Promotions Announced for UMD Computer Science Faculty Members

The University of Maryland's Department of Computer Science is pleased to announce the promotion of six faculty members, recognizing their contributions to research, teaching and leadership within the field of computer science.

"We are proud of the accomplishments and promotions of our faculty members. Their dedication to research, teaching and leadership within the field of computer science is truly exceptional,” said Department Chair Matthias Zwicker, who holds the Elizabeth Iribe Chair for Innovation and the Phillip H. and Catherine C. Horvitz Professorship. “These promotions reflect their significant contributions and exemplify the department's commitment to nurturing excellence and advancing knowledge in computer science.”

Associate Professor Promotions (effective July 1, 2023)

Soheil Feizi was promoted to associate professor with tenure. Feizi's work in machine learning has garnered recognition for its focus on developing reliable and trustworthy artificial intelligence (AI). His research emphasizes understanding the robustness, generalizability and interpretability of AI algorithms. Feizi’s promotion acknowledges his significant impact on the field and his dedication to advancing knowledge in computer science.

Dave Levin, known for his expertise in systems and network security, was promoted to associate professor with tenure. Levin's research measures and improves real-world security with a vision of empowering internet users with greater control and understanding of their data. His work spans areas such as the web's certificate ecosystem, cloud computing and censorship avoidance. Levin’s promotion reflects his exceptional research contributions and his commitment to mentoring future generations of computer scientists, exemplified by his leadership of the Breakerspace research lab.

Xiaodi Wu was promoted to associate professor with tenure. Wu's research focuses on bridging the gap between the theoretical foundation of quantum computing and the limitations of realistic quantum machines. He continually advances the development of practical quantum applications by investigating computational models that capture the native programmability of quantum devices. Wu’s promotion recognizes his contributions to the field and his dedication to educating the next generation of computer science professionals.

Professor Promotion (effective July 1, 2023)

Tom Goldstein was promoted to professor. Goldstein's research contributions at the intersection of machine learning and optimization, particularly in computer vision and signal processing, foster fruitful discussions and advancements in the field. His work encompasses optimization methods for various platforms, ranging from powerful cluster/cloud computing environments to resource-limited integrated circuits. Goldstein’s promotion acknowledges his sustained excellence in research, teaching and service, highlighting his significant impact on the field.

Principal Lecturer Promotions (effective August 23, 2023)

Fawzi Emad and Nelson Padua-Perez were promoted to principal lecturers. As principal lecturers, they will continue to provide exceptional instruction and mentorship to students while contributing to the department's educational initiatives.

Emad's promotion recognizes his exemplary teaching and dedication to fostering a dynamic and inclusive learning environment. His passion for computer science education inspires countless students and contributes to the department's academic success.

Padua-Perez's promotion acknowledges his outstanding contributions to the development of innovative teaching methods and curriculum design. He has played a vital role in advancing computer science education at UMD, fostering a culture of excellence and innovation.

—Story by Samuel Malede Zewdu, CS Communications 


The Department welcomes comments, suggestions and corrections.  Send email to editor [-at-] cs [dot] umd [dot] edu.