Recent News & Accomplishments


Ben Bederson has been selected as an ACM Distinguished Scientist for 2011.  read more
Erik D. Demaine, MIT Time: Monday 4pm-5pm, Nov 7, 2011 Place: CSIC Building, Room 1115 (Refreshment will be served before the talk at 3:30pm, CSIC Lobby)  read more
Alexandros Tzannes, a Computer Science graduate student, co-advised by Profs. Rajeev Barua, ECE/ISR and Uzi Vishkin, ECE/UMIACS, won the first place in the ACM Student Research Competition for his paper, Improving Run-Time Scheduling for General-Purpose Parallel Code" at The Twentieth International Conference on Parallel Architectures and Compilation Techniques (PACT), Galveston Island, Texas, October 10-14, 2011 . This is the first time in the seven years during which these ACM competitions have been held that a UMD student has won first prize. Alexandros’...  read more
The paper Predicting Trust and Distrust in Social Networks co-authored by recently-graduated PhD student Tom DuBois with professors Jennifer Golbeck and Aravind Srinivasan , has received the Best Paper Award at IEEE SocialCom (The Third IEEE International Conference on Social Computing), 2011.  read more
Jay Pujara, a second year PhD student working with Dr. Getoor and Dr. Daumé, won a best paper award at the 8th Annual Collaboration, Electronic messaging, Anti-Abuse and Spam Conference (CEAS 2011) for the following paper: Using Classifier Cascades for Scalable E-Mail Classification,  read more
Two team projects from Professor Shneiderman 's CMSC 734 Info Visualization course were accepted to IEEE Social Computing Conference , October 9-11 in Boston, MA. Gove, R., Gramsky,, N., Kirby, R., Sefer, E., Sopan, A., Dunne, C., Shneiderman, B. and Taieb-Maimon, M., NetVisia: Heat map & matrix visualization of dynamic social network statistics & content, Proc. IEEE Conference on Social Computing, IEEE Press, Piscataway, NJ (to appear, October 2011). Khurana, U., Nguyen, V., Cheng, H., Ahn, J., Chen, X., Shneiderman, B., Visual analysis of temporal trends in social networks using...  read more
Jack Minker, Professor Emeritus, has been awarded the 2011 Heinz R. Pagels Award. The award is given to scientists for their contributions to safeguard or advance the human rights of scientists throughout the world. The award will be presented in September by the New York Academy of Sciences.  read more
Sungwoo Park was selected as one of the winners in the 2011 SIAM Student Paper Competition for his paper entitled, Portfolio Selection Using Tikhonov Filtering to Estimate the Covariance Matrix," co-authored with Dianne P. O'Leary.  read more
Ching Teo and Yezhou Yang and their advisors Yiannis Aloimonos and Hal Daume III won Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship 2011 awards.  read more
Hossam Sharara won a Best Paper Award at ICC 2011 entitled, "Utilizing Social Influence in Content Distribution Networks".  read more