Recent News & Accomplishments

From Data Analytics to Models: Developing New Tools to Combat COVID-19 through Computing


Dear UMD CS Community, We, the CS diversity and inclusion committee, are reaching out in response to recent events. For centuries, Black people in the United States have carried a weighty burden, subjected to implicit and explicit messages that they are inferior and are somehow not fully part of “We the people.” Tragically, these messages have too often been accompanied by violence, even government-condoned violence. All of this is antithetical to our values and our laws, and this has to stop. We want to state clearly that such racism has no place in our department and in our university. All...  read more
Descriptive Image for Dinesh Manocha and Aravind Srinivasan Named Distinguished University Professors (21007)
Distinguished University Professor is the highest academic honor bestowed by the university
Paul Chrisman Iribe, Professor Dinesh Manocha and Professor Aravind Srinivasan have been named 2020 Distinguished University Professors. The title is the highest appointment bestowed on a tenured faculty member. This distinction is honored to only 7% of the tenured faculty, in recognition of the significant and impactful contribution in teaching, research and service. Dinesh Manocha An undergraduate in computer science and engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, and a Ph.D. in computer science from the University of California, Berkeley, Manocha joined UMD in 2018. Prior...  read more
Descriptive Image for Mohammad Hajiaghayi Named Blavatnik National Award Finalist (21006)
Jack and Rita G. Minker Professor Mohammad Hajiaghayi has been named the finalist of the prestigious Blavatnik National Awards for Young Scientists in the Physical Science & Engineering category for 2020. He was chosen as one of the 31 finalists (includes only 2 computer scientists) selected from 305 nominations from 161 academic and research centers across 41 US states. The Blavatnik Family Foundation, administered by the New York Academy of Sciences was founded in 2013, to elate and recognize the transformative research of early-career scientists, at America’s top academic and research...  read more
Descriptive Image for Leilani Battle Named MIT Technology Review Innovators Under 35  (21003)
Assistant Professor Leilani Battle has been named to the 2020 MIT Technology Review Innovators under 35. In addition to being an assistant professor in computer science, Battle holds joint appointment in UMIACS and is affiliated with the UMD Human-Computer Interaction Laboratory (HCIL) . Battle is one of the 35 young innovators chosen for this honor. The award was established in 1999, to recognize exceptionally talented innovators younger than 35 years from all over the globe whose work has the greatest potential to transform the world in a wide range of fields, including biotechnology,...  read more
Descriptive Image (21002)
Assistant Professor Michelle Mazurek joins a national research project to build secure smart homes. The five-year project, funded by the National Science Foundation, focuses on increasing security and privacy of the tech products used in smart homes. The project -- Security and Privacy in the Lifecycle of IoT for Consumer Environments (SPLICE) -- aims to develop new scientific understanding and novel engineering principles in order to help people to live in a trustworthy Smart Home and protect their privacy at the same time. “We don’t think people who buy smart devices should be asked to make...  read more
Descriptive Image (21001)
Professor Emeritus Bonnie Dorr has been named to DARPA's Information Science and Technology (ISAT) Study Group. The ISAT Study group brings together 30 scientists and engineers from across the country who provide assessments of advanced information science and technology as it relates to the U.S. Department of Defense. A leading researcher in the field of natural language processing, Dorr's research focuses on cyber-event extraction and natural language understanding for detecting attacks, discerning intentions of attackers, and thwarting social engineering attacks. Dorr is currently an...  read more
Descriptive Image (20999)
Professor Leila De Floriani was recently elected as the 2020 European Association for Computer Graphics Fellow for her outstanding contributions, leadership and service to the fields of Computer Graphics, Visualization and to the Eurographics Association in particular, and for her foundational contribution to starting up one of the most vital research communities in Geometry and Graphics in Italy. A Fellow of IEEE and of the International Association for Pattern Recognition (IAPR) as well as a Pioneer of the Solid Modeling Association , De Floriani’s research focuses on geometric modeling and...  read more
Descriptive Image (20998)
Assistant professor Dave Levin was recently added to serve as a co principal investigator for the Advanced Cybersecurity Experience for Students (ACES) program’s Scholarship for Service grant. The grant is funded by the National Science Foundation in an effort to provide better opportunities for the exceptional students including research and internships with government agencies. More on the story: Here  read more
Descriptive Image (20996)
Distinguished University Professor and Elizabeth Stevinson Iribe Chair Ming Lin has been named to the 2020 Association for Computing Machinery SIGGRAPH Academy in recognition of her contributions in collision detection, physics simulation, natural phenomena, crowd animation, haptics, and sound rendering. The ACM SIGGRAPH Academy Academy was established in 2018 to recognize individuals whose work is influential and who are having a direct impact on the field as proven through the development of new research or innovations in computer graphics and interactive techniques. Lin was a part of a...  read more
Descriptive Image (20995)
Three faculty members, Marine Carpuat , Michelle Mazurek and Rob Patro have been promoted from Assistant Professor to Associate Professor with tenure. The academic promotions of Carpuat, Mazurek and Patro are in recognition of their outstanding research, excellent teaching, and strong commitment towards service. Carpuat’s research focuses on multilingual natural language processing and machine translation to help people communicate across languages. Her work aims at designing computational models and methods to detect and explain nuanced differences between words and sentences in various...  read more