Recent News & Accomplishments

From Data Analytics to Models: Developing New Tools to Combat COVID-19 through Computing


Descriptive Image (20946)
Ph.D. students Rohan Chandra, Kanishka Ganguly, Kamal Gupta and Kevin Hogan receive the UMD Graduate Student Research Fellowship for summer 2020. Rohan Chandra (Advisor- Dinesh Manocha ) Chandra earned his bachelors in electronics engineering from Delhi Technological University, New Delhi, India, and his master’s in computer science from UMD in 2018. His research work focuses on socially acceptable autonomous driving and aims to develop a new metric that can be used to "measure" social behavior. “While most of the current focus on AVs in both industry and academia is on their safe and proper...  read more
Descriptive Image (20933)
Associate Perotto Professor Thomas Goldstein and Assistant Professor Furong Huang recently received the 2020 JPMorgan Faculty Research Award for their project titled “Robust, Private and Fair ML for Financial Models”. The focus of the project is towards security vulnerabilities in the Financial machine learning models which include the adversarial attacks, privacy leaks, and fairness violations. The research has three-fold goals: · Studying how adversarial attacks impact markets · Preventing leaks of the user’s private data and · Safeguarding the protected attributes of the customers in order...  read more
Descriptive Image for Four Graduate Students Awarded the 2020 NSF Graduate Research Fellowship (20932)
Makana Castillo-Martin, Jason Fan, Nick Franzese and Lillian Huang received the 2020 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships
Four graduate students from the department, Makana Castillo-Martin, Jason Fan, Nicholas Franzese and Lillian Huang were recently awarded the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships for 2020. The NSF fellowship program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. Makana Castillo-Martin An undergraduate in Mathematics and Computer Science from Reed College, Castillo-Martin is currently studying the user perceptions of fairness and privacy. She plans to work in academics to broaden engagement and participation in...  read more
Descriptive Image (20929)
Eddie Schoute a fourth-year doctoral student received the prestigious IBM PhD fellowship for 2020. Schoute was one of the 24 winners selected from hundreds of applicants from over140 universities in 31 countries. The distinguished fellowship recognizes the ability in pioneering research areas, such as artificial intelligence, blockchain, quantum computing, data science, security, hybrid cloud technology, and the next generation of cutting-edge processors. Schoute’s research work focuses towards quantum circuit transformations for quantum architectures. His current work aims on a topic called...  read more
Descriptive Image (20923)
Jack and Rita G. Minker Professor Mohammad Hajiaghayi was recently named the fellow of European Association for Theoretical Computer Science -2020, for his outstanding contributions to the algorithmic graph theory, game theory, and distributed computing. He was one of the 3 members selected by the EATCS Fellow Selection Committee. Hajiaghayi’s research focuses on algorithmic game theory and combinatorial auctions, network design, combinatorial optimizations and approximation algorithms, fixed-parameter algorithms, algorithmic graph theory, distributed and mobile computing, and computational...  read more
Descriptive Image (20900)
Professor Aravind Srinivasan was recently named a Fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) for 2020 . SIAM is an international society which aims to promote research that will lead to effective new mathematical and computational methods and techniques for science, engineering, industry, and society. SIAM specifically recognized Srinivasan for his “contributions to randomized algorithms and probabilistic methods with applications to network and computational science”. Srinivasan’s research has been at the intersection of randomized algorithms, AI, discrete...  read more
Descriptive Image (20896)
Computer Science undergraduate Pavan Ravindra, a Banneker/Key Scholar has been named the 2020 Goldwater Scholar by the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. Ravindra was among the 396 Barry Goldwater Scholars selected from 1,343 students nominated nationally this year. The scholarship encourages students to pursue higher education and career in sciences, engineering and mathematics. In addition to Computer Science, Ravindra is also majoring in Biochemistry. He is also a member of the Integrated Life Sciences program in the Honors College. Ravindra developed an...  read more
Descriptive Image (20895)
Yogesh Balaji, Sanghyun Hong and Nitin Sanket were awarded the Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship for the 2020-2021 academic year.
Three students from the department were awarded the Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship for the 2020- 2021 academic year. The Ann G. Wylie Dissertation Fellowship supports students with excellent qualifications who are in the latter stages of writing their dissertations. Yogesh Balaji - Prior to joining UMD, Balaji graduated with a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Chennai, India. His research work focuses on problems involving out-of-distribution generalization, domain adaptation and generative modeling. He plans to work towards developing efficient neural...  read more
Descriptive Image (20892)
A team of researchers led by Professor Aravind Srinivasan at UMD and by the University of Virginia overall, secured the prestigious NSF Expeditions in Computing award on the timely topic of Computational Epidemiology. The other UMD faculty involved are Distinguished University Professor Rita R. Colwell and Assistant Professor Abhinav Bhatele (CS and UMIACS). The growth and the adaptability of the human population in addition to the globalization, antimicrobial resistance, urbanization, climate change, and ecological pressures has increased the risk of a global pandemic. Srinivasan’s project...  read more
Descriptive Image (20861)
Assistant Professor Abhinav Shrivastava and Assistant Professor John Dickerson’s mentoring leads high school students to the top 300 scholars in this year’s Regeneron Science Talent Search, the nation’s oldest and most prestigious competition.
Michelle Tang, advised by Assistant Professor Abhinav Shrivastava , and Zach Zhao, advised by Assistant Professor John Dickerson , were selected as semifinalists in the 2020 Regeneron Science Talent Search . The Regeneron STS is the oldest and arguably most prestigious high school competition in the United States. On top of this, Zach Zhao’s project went on to win the ACM/CSTA Cutler-Bell Prize , established in 2015 by DEC/Microsoft alumni David Cutler and Gordon Bell, which recognizes students who pursue computing challenges beyond the traditional classroom environment. Both Tang and Zhao...  read more