AI and Robotics

AI & Robotics

Artificial Intelligence (AI) has a long history in our department, and currently supports a very dynamic program of research and education. Our educational curriculum provides a broad range of courses including introductory AI, automated planning, cognitive modeling, commonsense reasoning, evolutionary computation, game theory, machine learning, multi-agent systems, natural language processing, and neural computation. The AI group has consistently ranked high in external national assessments: for example, in the US News ranking of best graduate schools, our AI program is ranked 9th among all universities and 6th among public universities.

Many of our former students have gone on to very high levels of achievement. Examples include Vipin Kumar (PhD 1982), Fellow of the AAAS, ACM, and IEEE; Qiang Yang (PhD 1989), Fellow of the IEEE; Naresh Gupta (PhD 1993), Senior Vice President at Adobe; Lee Spector (PhD 1992), Fellow of the ISGEC; Gary Flake (PhD 1993), Microsoft Distinguished Engineer and well known author of The Computational Beauty of Nature; Narendra Ahuja (PhD 1979), Fellow of the IEEE, AAAI , SPIE, and ACM; and Granger Sutton (PhD 1992), whose software was used in the first-ever assembly of the complete whole genome of a free-living organism, the Haemophilus influenzae genome.

Associated Faculty

Photo of John Aloimonos

John Aloimonos

Photo of Calin Belta

Calin Belta

Brendan Iribe Endowed Professor
Photo of Jordan Boyd-Graber

Jordan Boyd-Graber

Associate Professor
Photo of Marine Carpuat

Marine Carpuat

Associate Professor
Photo of Hal Daumé III

Hal Daumé III

Volpi-Cupal Family Endowed Professor
Photo of John Dickerson

John Dickerson

Associate Professor
Photo of Roger Eastman

Roger Eastman

Professor of the Practice
Photo of Soheil Feizi

Soheil Feizi

Associate Professor
Photo of Tom Goldstein

Tom Goldstein

Volpi-Cupal Endowed Professor
Photo of Furong Huang

Furong Huang

Assistant Professor
Photo of Jia-Bin Huang

Jia-Bin Huang

Associate Professor
Capital One Endowed Professor
Photo of Heng Huang

Heng Huang

Brendan Iribe Endowed Professor
Photo of David Jacobs

David Jacobs

Photo of Ming Lin

Ming Lin

Dr. Barry Mersky and Capital One Endowed Professor; Distinguished University Professor
Photo of Dinesh Manocha

Dinesh Manocha

Paul Chrisman Iribe Professor of Computer Science and Electrical and Computer Engineering, Distinguished University Professor
Photo of Christopher Metzler

Christopher Metzler

Assistant Professor
Photo of William Regli

William Regli

Director, Institute for Systems Research (ISR)
Photo of Rachel Rudinger

Rachel Rudinger

Assistant Professor
Photo of Hanan Samet

Hanan Samet

Distinguished University Professor
Photo of Abhinav Shrivastava

Abhinav Shrivastava

Assistant Professor
Photo of Pratap Tokekar

Pratap Tokekar

Associate Professor
Photo of Tianyi Zhou

Tianyi Zhou

Assistant Professor
Photo of Larry Davis

Larry Davis

Professor Emeritus
College Park Professor, Director of the Center for Automation Research (CfAR)
Photo of Bonnie Dorr

Bonnie Dorr

Professor Emerita
Photo of Laveen Kanal

Laveen Kanal

Professor Emeritus
Photo of Dana Nau

Dana Nau

Professor Emeritus
Photo of Don Perlis

Don Perlis

Professor Emeritus
Photo of James Reggia

James Reggia

Professor Emeritus
Photo of Aniket Bera

Aniket Bera

Adjunct Associate Professor
Photo of Ruohan Gao

Ruohan Gao

Adjunct Assistant Professor
Photo of Lise Getoor

Lise Getoor

Adjunct Professor
Photo of John Grant

John Grant

Adjunct Professor
Photo of Doug Oard

Doug Oard

Affiliate Professor
Photo of Philip Resnik

Philip Resnik

Affiliate Professor
Professor, Department of Linguistics and Institute for Advanced Computer Studies
Photo of Haizhao Yang

Haizhao Yang

Affiliate Associate Professor
Photo of Kaiqing Zhang

Kaiqing Zhang

Affiliate Assistant Professor