Alumni Hall Of Fame

Lee Spector

Photo of Lee Spector
Graduation Year:
Supervenience in Dynamic World Planning


Lee Spector received his Ph.D. from the University of Maryland in 1992 under the guidance of Professor James Hendler. His dissertation, "Supervenience in Dynamic-World Planning," incorporated perspectives from several disciplines in the cognitive sciences to address issues in artificial intelligence.

After graduating from Maryland Lee joined the faculty of the interdisciplinary School of Cognitive Science at Hampshire College, an innovative liberal arts college in Massachusetts. At Hampshire he has held the MacArthur Chair, served as the elected faculty member of the Board of Trustees, and served as the Dean of the School of Cognitive Science. He returned to Maryland for one year, to supervise Professor Hendler's lab while Professor Hendler was away on a Fulbright fellowship.

At Hampshire College Lee teaches and conducts research in computer science and in related areas of cognitive science. His areas of interest include genetic and evolutionary computation, quantum computation, planning in dynamic environments, artificial intelligence education, artificial intelligence and neuropsychology, and artificial intelligence in the arts.

In 2003 Lee received the highest honor bestowed by the National Science Foundation for excellence in both teaching and research, the NSF Director's Award for Distinguished Teaching Scholars. He has won several other awards and honors, including a gold medal in the Human Competitive Results contest of the Genetic and Evolutionary Computation Conference and election as a fellow of the International Society for Genetic and Evolutionary Computation.

Lee has produced over 70 professional scientific publications, including his recent book: Automatic Quantum Computer Programming: A Genetic Programming Approach, published by Kluwer Academic Publishers in 2004. He was Editor-in-Chief for the Proceedings of the 2001 Genetic and Evolutionary Computation conference and has served as track chair, organizer, or reviewer for several other conferences. He was lead editor for Advances in Genetic Programming, Volume 3, published by MIT Press. He also writes for general audiences, including a recent OpEd piece in The Boston Globe. His work has received funding from several sources including the National Science Foundation and the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency.

Lee is a member of the Executive Board of the Association for Computing Machinery's special interest group on evolutionary computation (ACM SIGEVO), an Associate Editor for the journal Genetic Programming and Evolvable Machines, and a member of the editorial board of the journal Evolutionary Computation.

Lee lives in Northampton, Massachusetts, with his wife, son and daughter.


Photo of Narendra Ahuja

Narendra Ahuja

PhD 1979
Photo of Michael Antonov

Michael Antonov

Bachelor's 2003
Photo of J. Gary Augustson

J. Gary Augustson

Master's 1969
Photo of David Baggett

David Baggett

Bachelor's 1992
Photo of Suman Banerjee

Suman Banerjee

PhD 2003
Photo of Sergey Brin

Sergey Brin

Bachelor's 1993
Photo of Paul Capriolo

Paul Capriolo

Bachelor's 2006
Photo of Anthony Casalena

Anthony Casalena

Bachelor's 2005
Photo of Charles Dyer

Charles Dyer

PhD 1979
Photo of Martin Farach

Martin Farach

PhD 1991
Photo of Gary Flake

Gary Flake

PhD 1993
Photo of Rajiv Gandhi

Rajiv Gandhi

PhD 2003
Photo of Howard Gobioff

Howard Gobioff

Bachelor's 1993
Photo of Naresh Gupta

Naresh Gupta

PhD 1993
Photo of Patrick Jenkins

Patrick Jenkins

Bachelor's 2006
Photo of Vipin Kumar

Vipin Kumar

PhD 1982
Photo of Shmuel Peleg

Shmuel Peleg

PhD 1979
Photo of Andrew Reisse

Andrew Reisse

Bachelor's 2001
Photo of Glenn Ricart

Glenn Ricart

PhD 1980
Photo of S. Cenk Sahinalp

S. Cenk Sahinalp

PhD 1997
Photo of Pooja Sankar

Pooja Sankar

Master's 2004
Photo of Jagdeep Singh

Jagdeep Singh

Bachelor's 1987
Photo of Aya Soffer

Aya Soffer

PhD 1995
Photo of Lee Spector

Lee Spector

PhD 1992
Photo of Granger Sutton

Granger Sutton

PhD 1992
Photo of Qiang Yang

Qiang Yang

PhD 1989
Photo of Shayan Zadeh

Shayan Zadeh

Master's 2002